Soups and Stews, Uncategorized

Chicken Cordon Blue Soup

It’s been a week. I’ve had the two littlest girls home all week because they’ve been sick. It’s some kind of viral nasty bug. They’ve had fevers, sore throats, runny nasty noses, and are extra tired. Luckily no flu! We really got some nervous feelings about this. We try to avoid the flu at all costs. In the youngest ones school, they have had a lot of kids out with the flu. I’ll take the viral thing any day at this point. Much less crazy than the nasty flu.

Our house is almost ready! We’ve been patiently waiting forever. I can’t wait to be able to get all my stuff out again to use. I miss my stuff. It’s funny you don’t realize how attached you are to your own space and own stuff until you don’t have it. I really can’t wait to get back to those things. I miss my dishes and cooking stuff. I miss my blankets and sheets and all my clothes. I can’t wait to see all my pretty stuff again. It feels like I’ve been waiting forever. I’m grateful that I have had a place to stay and not been couch surfing, but there’s nothing better than your own space. I can’t stress that enough….I’m feeling pretty happy. Six months later and we’re almost at the finish line.

2 lbs chicken, cooked and shredded

1 lb of diced ham

3 tablespoons butter

8 oz cream cheese

1 cup heavy cream

32 oz chicken broth

6 oz shredded swiss cheese

1 teaspoon dried parsley

salt and pepper to taste

Melt butter and cream cheese in a pot. Add chicken and ham. Add heavy cream and chicken broth. Melt in cheese and the rest of the other ingredients. 

5 thoughts on “Chicken Cordon Blue Soup”

Leave a comment